The broadcast schedule for the 2024 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard will be announced closer to the tournament.


The purse for the 2023 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard was $20,000,000. The first place winner received $3,600,000. 

Arnold Palmer Cup Exemption

Arnold Palmer Cup

The Arnold Palmer Cup is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top male university/college golfers matching the United States against Europe. The event began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando FL in 1997 and has been staged each year alternately in Europe and the USA.

Selection of the Arnold Palmer Cup representative in the Arnold Palmer Invitational Presented by Mastercard is determined by a vote of the 20 Arnold Palmer Cup participants prior to the competition. The players select a member of each team (excluding themselves) who they think best represents the “Arnold Palmer Legacy,” that is, the values that Arnold Palmer has exhibited during his legendary career. The top vote getter from the winning team will earn the invitation. The Arnold Palmer Cup player selected must remain a collegiate golfer to compete at API. The junior caddie for the designated Arnold Palmer Cup player is also invited to Bay Hill.

2023 Exemption - Ludvig Aberg

2022 Exemption - Sam Bennett

2021 Exemption - Matthias Schmid

2020 Exemption - Chun-an Yu

2019 Exemption - Justin Suh

2018 Exemption - Collin Morikawa

2017 Exemption - Matthias Schwab

Golf is deceptively simple, and endlessly complicated. Arnold Palmer